Executive Committee

Reyna L. Gordon, PhD

Conference Co-Chair: Reyna L. Gordon, PhD

Dr. Gordon is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology, where she directs the newly founded Music Cognition Lab. She holds a Bachelor of Music from the University of Southern California, a Master in Neuroscience from the University of Aix-Marseille, and a PhD in Complex Systems and Brain Sciences from Florida Atlantic University. Her research is focused on exploring the role of rhythm skills in language development and disorders.

Elisabeth Dykens, PhD

Conference Co-Chair: Elisabeth Dykens, PhD

Dr. Dykens is Director of the Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development, and she is Co-Director of the Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities. She is Annette Schaffer Eskind Chair and Professor of Psychology, Psychiatry, and Pediatrics at Vanderbilt University. Dr. Dykens’s research examines psychopathology and areas of strength in persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities, especially those with genetic syndromes.

Jessica Grahn, PhD

Program Chair: Jessica Grahn, PhD

Dr. Grahn is Associate Professor at the Brain and Mind Institute and Department of Psychology at the University of Western Ontario (Western). She has degrees in Neuroscience and Piano Performance from Northwestern University and a PhD from Cambridge, England, in the Neuroscience of Music. She specializes in rhythm, movement, and cognition.

Local organizing committee

Conference Manager: Laura McLeod

Committee members:

Dr. Nicole Baganz
Sara Beck
Emelyne Bingham
Scott Blain, Social Media Chair
Dr. Blythe Corbett
Lindsey Dethrage
Dr. Roland Eavey
Aysu Erdemir
Kamyl Harvey
Rita Pfeiffer
Marianne Ploger
Lindsey Reymore, Chair of Kickoff subcommittee
Dr. Joseph Schlesinger
Beth Sims
Dr. Mark Wallace
Alison Williams


Scott Blain
Jane Burton
Kate Chapman
Julia Goddeeris
Gloria Han
Laura Hieber
Sara Ioannou
Arun Joshi
Kathrin Kuchenbach
Aidan McCarter
Erin Nelson, Volunteer Coordinator
Tram Nguyen
Rita Pfeiffer
Michael Pridmore
Jessica Slater
Alison Williams

Vanderbilt Kennedy Center Support Staff

Peggy Chatfield
Kylie Muccilli
Jon Tapp
Jennifer Johnson
Amy Pottier
Dr. Janet Rosemergy
Tim Stafford
Elizabeth Turner

Program Committee

Committee members:

Dr. Gavin Bidelman, University of Memphis
Dr. Elisabeth Dykens, Vanderbilt University
Dr. Mary Farbood, New York University
Dr. John Iversen, University of California, San Diego
Dr. Miriam Lense, Emory University
Dr. Scott Lipscomb, University of Minnesota
Dr. Cyrille Magne, Middle Tennessee State University
Dr. Elizabeth Margulis, University of Arkansas
Dr. Daniela Sammler, Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences

Program Support Team,

Sean Gilmore
Dr. Molly Henry
Kathrin Kuchenbuch
Cricia Rinchon
Roxy Rusu
Avital Sternin

SMPC Board

Dr. Edward Large

Dr. Peter Pfordresher

Dr. Elizabeth Margulis

Dr. Mary Farbood
At-Large Board Member

Dr. John Iversen
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Scott Lipscomb
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Michael Schutz
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Psyche Loui
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Dominique Vuvan
Student Member

Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Richard Ashley                        Northwestern University

Dr. Ramesh Balasubramaniam       University of California

Dr. Marc Bangert                           Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber

Dr. Jonathan Berger                       Stanford University

Dr. Tonya Bergeson                       Indiana University

Dr. Birgitta Burger                          University of Jyväskylä

Dr. Blake Butler                             University of Western Ontario

Dr. Annabell Cohen                        University of Prince Edward Island

Dr. Kathleen Corrigall                     Grant MacEwan

Dr. Sarah Creel                              University of California

Dr. Lola Cuddy                               Queen’s University

Dr. Meagan Curtis                           Purchase College

 Dr. Roger Dean                              University of Western Sydney

Dr. Steven Demorest                       University of Washington

Dr. Johanna Devaney                      Ohio State University

Dr. Shinya Fujii                               Sunnybrook Research Institute

Dr. Takako Fujioka                          Stanford University

Dr. Shinichi Furuya                          Sophia University

Dr. Jessica Grahn                            University of Western Ontario

Dr. Andrea Halpern                           Bucknell University

Dr. Erin Hannon                               University of Nevada

Dr. Tommi Himberg                          University of Cambridge

Dr. Michael Hove                             Harvard Medical School

Dr. David Huron                               Ohio State University

Dr. Petr Janata                                University of California

Dr. Peter Keller                                University of Western Sydney

Dr. Stefan Koelsch                           Freie Universität Berlin

Dr. Sonja Kotz                                 University of Manchester

Dr. Alexandra Lamont                       Keele University

Dr. Peter Martens                            Saint Louis University

Dr. Elizabeth Marvin                         Eastman School of Music

Dr. Panayotis Mavromatis                New York University

Dr. Stephen McAdams                     McGill University

Dr. Devin McAuley                          Michigan State University

Dr. Lucy McGarry                            University of Western Ontario

Dr. Daniel Müllensiefen                    Goldsmiths University of London

Dr. Mitch Ohriner                             Shenandoah University

Dr. Aniruddh Patel                           Tufts University

Dr. Michelle Phillips                         Royal Northern College of Music

Dr. Jon Prince                                 Murdoch University

Dr. Tal-Chen Rabinowitch                 University of Washington

Dr. Martin Rohrmeier                        Technische Universität Dresden

Dr. Frank Russo                              Ryerson University

Dr. Valorie Salimpoor                       Baycrest Institute

Dr. Rebecca Schaefer                      University California

Dr. Glenn Schellenberg                    University of Toronto

Dr. Benjamin Schultz                       Université de Montréal

Dr. Michael Schutz                          McMaster University

Dr. Daniel Shanahan                        Louisiana State University 

Dr. Robert Slevc                              University of Maryland

Dr. Joel Snyder                               University of Nevada

Dr. Laura Stambaugh                       Georgia Southern University

Dr. Chris Steele                               Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences

Dr. Sundeep Teki                             Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris

Dr. David Temperley                         Eastman School of Music

Dr. Mari Tervaniemi                          University of Helsinki

Dr. Michael Thaut                            Colorado State University

Dr. Bill Thompson                            Macquarie University

Dr. Petri Toiviainen                          University of Jyväskylä

Dr. Elisabeth Tolbert                        University of Cambridge

Dr. Mark Tramo                               University of California

Dr. Christopher White                       University of North Carolina

Dr. Matthew Woolhouse                   McMaster University